Tu Reputación – Your reputation (a translation)

This is one of my favourite Spanish songs with some of the most beautiful lyrics that I just had to translate and share:

Your Reputation 

Ricardo Arjona

Your reputation is the first 6 letters of that word (whore)

Taking you to bed was easier than breathing

Your phone number is in popular demand

Your mattress has more marks than a beach in plain summer

You’ve made love more times than my grandmother

And you have yet to finish school

Even though I know you’re not the best team

Tell me who can go against Cupid?

 

And if I have not been a monk

Why would I obligate you to be a saint?

 

If the past has taught you to kiss like this

Blessed are those who came before me

A lady is not one that abstains

A lady is one that stops herself

When she finds what you have found here

 

If the past has taught you to touch me like this

Blessed are those who came before me

If others have been your schooling

I will be your graduation

When you include your heart in the bed

 

They say there that your fame for the superficial

Has come to paint a pair of horns on my head

That I have to take you from this town and this country

If I want to give this story a happy ending

 

If they knew the grand tenderness in you

And everything you do for me

They would know the road travelled before here

Was prepared for me

 

Come and hold me without fear

And kiss me to the health of the gossipers

 

If the past has taught you to kiss like this

Blessed are those who came before me

A lady is not one that abstains

A lady is one that stops herself

When she finds what you have found here

 

If the past has taught you to touch me like this

Blessed are those who came before me

If others have been your schooling

I will be your graduation

When you include your heart in the bed

Leave a Reply

