Booty Call Break Up

I hear my phone ring and go to pick it up.

“Hello?”

Image

In a deep and seductive voice he says, “Hey sexy, how’s it going? I’ve been trying to reach you because I’d love to spend time with you.”

I respond in a cheerful tone of voice with, “Oh, you’ve been trying to reach me? I’m sorry. I guess I’ve too busy being in love to answer your booty calls.”

He pauses for a moment before he asks, “You have a boyfriend now?”

“Yeah. Why? Does that surprise you?”

I could sense the disappointment in his voice. He responds with, “No. You’re a great person and you deserve to be happy.”

All I could say is, “Thanks.” But in the back of my head I wanted to say, “Thanks for making me feel so miserable so I could finally appreciate what it feels like to be with someone who makes me happy.”

“So… I guess there’s no chance we could hook up? This isn’t how I thought we’d say goodbye.”

I couldn’t believe the audacity he had to ask if we could hook up one last time so I say, “How’s this for a goodbye?” and hang up on him.

Leave a Reply

