How he made me say “I love you”

ImageI’m the kind of person who can get really excited about anything and everything from hearing my favourite song on the radio, tasting the most delicious chocolate cake, smelling fresh laundry, seeing or reading about the latest fashion trend, to feeling a cool breeze on a hot, humid day. It’s typical of me to say things like, “I love this book!” or “I LOVE this weather!”

It must have been a warm summer day when there was so much surrounding me to love. I remember walking down a busy street with my boyfriend at the time who noticed how excited and “in love” I was with everything around me. He suddenly rushed in front of me to stop me from walking and asked, “How do you feel about me?”

I was caught off guard and responded with, “What do you mean?”

“I mean… you love so many things but not once have you told me that you love me.”

“But I do.”

“Then why don’t you say it?”

“Because…” I drifted off into my thoughts and couldn’t explain why I was never able to say I love you. Maybe I just wasn’t sure or was just scared of the idea that this “love” could end.

It took me a while to work myself up to saying it.

I smiled warmly and started naming all the things around me that I loved.

“I love the sun, I love the sky, I love the grass…. I love you.”

His face lit up and as he went to hug me he whispered, “I love you too.”

2 thoughts on “How he made me say “I love you”

Leave a Reply

