My drunken escapade

I got invited to a friend’s wedding just months after a major break up. I was so depressed but figured going to a wedding would distract me from my misery and I decided to attend because my friend really wanted me to be part of their celebration.

It was a Russian wedding so there were bottles of vodka at each table. I was assigned to sit at a table with some people I knew but they weren’t very close friends of mine. They all appeared to be coupled except for these two younger guys who were sitting to my right. It seemed these two guys knew each other but didn’t know anyone else at the table so I broke the ice by asking how they knew the bride and groom.

The blonde haired guy sitting beside me responded with, “I know the bride. She used to babysit me.” He then went on to introduce his friend, “This is Vlad. He’s a family friend from Russia. And I’m Daniel.”

I was surprised when he mentioned that the bride used to babysit him so I couldn’t help but ask their age.

Daniel said, “I’m 17 and Vlad is 16.” There was a pause. I had a feeling he wanted to know my age so I said, “Guess how old I am.”

“Twenty-one?”

“I’m flattered but I’m much older.”

“Twenty-five?”

“I’ll be honest, I’m thirty.”

The shock on his face gave me a boost of confidence, at which point I think I started flirting with him because the moment he told me he was a ballroom dancer, I touched his arm and told him we had to dance so he could show me some of his moves.

The conversation flowed so effortlessly and at some point we noticed the bottles of vodka and started doing shots. Needless to say, I got pretty drunk which was the perfect opportunity to start dancing. I have to admit, I’m a frisky drunk so our dancing got pretty provocative.

Fragments of my memory disappeared from that point on but I remember this boy taking me by the hand to get some fresh air and the next thing I knew, we were making out.

We both knew that nothing would flourish from this encounter but as a heard him whisper, “You’re amazing.” I believed him and instinctively knew that I would one day find someone who’d see and appreciate how truly amazing I am.

One thought on “My drunken escapade

Leave a Reply

